About Me

(in about 339 words)


I'm a Senior Lecturer in the School of Computing at Newcastle University. I joined the School in 2013, as a Senior Research Associate working with Aad van Moorsel and got my Lectureship in 2016 and Senior Lectureship in 2019.

Research Projects

I have been involved with many research projects over the years. I'm currently looking into two main topics:

  • Security of Smart Infrastructure, which includes with my involvement in the PETRAS Centre, within which I'm leading two projects directly related to the security and privacy of smart buildings. My main collaborators include Lilian Edwards (Law School), Luke Smith (Engineering), John Mace (Computing) and Rima Alaeedine (Computing). I've also done some with Carsten Maple (Warwick) within PETRAS on risk assessment for smart buildings. As part of this topic, I'm also involved in a Security work-package in the Active Building Centre, working with Sara Walker (Engineering) and Ricardo Czekster (Computing), as well as John Clark (Sheffield) and Walter Bassage (Sheffield). Finally, I'm leading a Security work-package in the e4Future project, working with Myriam Neaimeh (Engineering) and Roberto Metere (Computing) on vehicle-to-grid systems.

  • Access Control, which was my PhD topic and on which I have had many collaborations over the years, including notably Nicola Zannone (TU Eindhoven) and Jason Crampton (Royal Holloway). Our initial paper on PTaCL has established a formal semantics for attribute-based access control (ABAC and introduced the problem of attribute hiding attacks (when an attacker gains access control privilege by hiding some attributes). We have recently developed a formal framework for the efficient evaluation of ABAC policies, with the collaboration of Tim Willemse. This framework uses Binary Decision Diagrams to make tractable the problem of evaluation policies with missing information.

PhD Students

  • Peter Carmichael, 2014 - 2019, examiners: Sasa Radomirovic (Heriot-Watt) and Jason Steggles (Newcastle)
  • Sean Simpson, since 2014, main supervisor: Thomas Gross.
  • Luca Arnaboldi, since 2016.
  • Mazyounah Alfagham, since 2018
  • Tim Rodaway since 2018, main supervisor: Phil James.
  • Rawan Tawer, since 2019
  • Naoom Abah, since 2019
  • Ricky Lim, since 2019
  • David Sanchez, since 2019
  • Huda Alatwi, since 2020